Mallikarjun Kharge New Congress President: Mallikarjun Kharge will be the new President of Congress


National Desk:
Congress President Election 2022: Mallikarjun Kharge will be the new President of Congress.  In the counting of votes for the Congress President's election held today, he got 7897 votes while Shashi Tharoor got 1072 votes.  Shashi Tharoor has congratulated Mallikarjun Kharge for his victory in the elections.  Tharoor said that becoming the President of Congress is a matter of great honour, great responsibility.  ''I congratulate Mallikarjun Kharge for his success in this election.  I thank Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi for their contribution in conducting free and fair elections for the post of Congress President."  He also said that everyone is indebted to the outgoing Congress President Sonia Gandhi for maintaining the strength and leadership of the party in the most critical situations.
   After 24 years, a leader from outside the Gandhi family has been elected the president of the country's oldest party.  About 9500 delegates (members of the electoral college), including Congress President Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, former Congress President Rahul Gandhi and several other senior leaders, voted on Monday to elect the new President of the party.  By Tuesday evening, the ballot boxes from all the polling stations of the Congress in different states of the country had been brought to the Congress headquarters.  They were kept in the strong room built inside the Congress headquarters.

Your Comments